#187


This marks another post that isn’t of the traditional format. This is another album recommendation.

Near the Parenthesis is just one guy – Tim Arndt who hails from San Francisco. He’s on the n5MD label (same as the group ‘Plastik Joy’). I don’t know a whole lot about the label but they’ve signed a decent number of people and they’re always interesting choices.

At first I wasn’t sure if I was going to like this album or not. A lot of times mellow stuff kind of just gets glazed over in my mind and I don’t pay attention to it – which can be a good thing. On the other hand, I really like dissecting music and mellow stuff can come off as too bland or boring sometimes. Near the Parenthesis found a healthy medium.

“Japanese For Beginners” is 9 tracks long and it really flies by. The seamless transition from one song to another really makes this an album, not just a collection of songs. I have a hard time picking out specific songs that I like because I’ve only ever listened to this album sequentially. That being said, I do have a few that stick out. “Your Subconscious Condition” is one of my favorites, with the haunting piano floating in over light static and distortion. The layering of this album is wonderful. It’s been a while since I’ve had an album penetrate into my brain so deeply. It can be heavy and moody at some points but on a whole it’s beautiful and keeps me coming back for more.

Near the Parenthesis – “Your Subconscious Condition”

Buy it at:
http://n5md.com/discography/184/Japanese-For-Beginners

This entry was posted by mepenete.

One thought on “#187

  1. Pingback: #231 « Delicious Music Feed

Leave a Reply

